Snapshot

I saw a photo today

Of Mountains, dark in blues and blacks,

Edged and capped with streaming wisps of white clouds

Palms in the foreground

Dark silhouettes against the light.

 

It was beautiful.

 

I see images every day

Of beautiful places I may never visit.

 

Shared perspectives,

Moments held by other souls,

Foreign memories.

 

I’ll share too.

 

I live among fields.

 

Fields brown

And green,

And white,

And gold,

Changing through time and season.

Bordered by dark trees

That edge into quiet woods.

 

I live among old farmhouses

Falling into their age,

Crumbling old gas stations

On roads untraveled now,

And black rivers winding their slow way

Past deer and possum and wren

To the lowland coast.

 

I live among flat salt marshes

Of thick black pluff mud,

Beaches edged with sweet grass and black gum trees,

Dogwood and saw palmetto,

And sculptures of driftwood, shaped by sun and wave.

 

These are the pictures of my life,

The memories,

Drenched in the past and the present,

Sprung from the deep soil that birthed my bones.

 

I hope you can see them.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Snapshot

Leave a Reply

