A Man

There was a man.

 

Bright blue eyes

And a ready smile.

 

“Here’s my hand

Let me help you.”

 

A common man,

A man of the earth,

Digging both hands deep into the soil

Every day.

 

An uncommon man,

A hunter,

Fisherman,

Farmer,

Who worked with uncommon skill

And uncommon heart,

Who fought for provision

And shared with every guest at his door.

 

A rock of a man.

Husband,

Father,

Father of fathers

And mothers.

 

“Here’s my hand,

Let me help you.”

 

A life built,

One step,

One step,

One step,

After another,

Always heading home.

 

Rest.

 

I’ll take it from here.

 

Here’s my hand.

Let me help.

 

There,

Right there,

Was a man.

Leave a Reply

