Becoming better

I want to be better.
I want to be better because I am a Christian.  I’m a living signpost.  My life should help point to the way to Jesus.  It should be conforming to the image of Christ.  That demands better.  Not better in my own power or effort but better through the power of God working in my life.  Wiser, because ignorance won’t show the Spirit of God living in me.  More loving because I was loved when I was absolutely un-lovable.  Stronger because I’m only strong in God and the weakness from which I come shows God’s strength even more.  More loyal because God never deserts me.  More faithful because faith is my great weapon and great armor against my enemies.  More joyful because even pain holds joy when I know that the pain will end in victory.  Without doubt, every storm will end in a new morning.
Make no mistake, I’m not remotely perfect. Someday, I will be.  I’m being perfected.  I’m being restored.  I’ve been picked up and put on the path leading to better and better.  I stumble and fall but, each time, I’m picked back up and made better for the fall.
I used to want to be better for pride.  The pride was born of insecurity.  I wanted to be better to show what I was capable of and to show that I was worth loving, worth…something.
Now I know.  I am worth something.  I’m worth Jesus dying.  I’m worth infinite love.
I can be better because I’m allowed to be.
Better is the gift I’ve been given.
Better is my inheritance.
I am better.
Leave a Reply

