One Step

Home.

 

The road is long and reaching on.

The desert rolls in endless dunes.

The swamp stretches on in murk and mud.

The wilderness, the wild wood, is vast and closes tight around me.

The sun scorches my face and blinds my eyes.

The mud drags at my weary legs.

The trees stretch spindly, whippy fingers

Pulling, poking and slashing at my skin.

 

The road winds on.

The path is hidden and spins for miles.

Miles and miles before I sleep.

 

 

Home is gone and far away.

 

 

One more step.

Take the step.

 

One more step.

Take the step.

 

One more step.

Take the step.

 

I cannot walk forever.

Miles and miles will break me.

 

But

 

One more step.

I can do one more step

Again

And again

And again

Until I’m home.

2 thoughts on “One Step

Leave a Reply

