Candlelight

I am a ripple on the water,

A collapsing wave-form,

A glimmer,

A shimmer,

A shadow in the corner of the mind’s eye.

 

I am, in brief, brief.

A life of heartbeats like a drum solo.

Maybe furiously pounded out,

Or quietly done;

But only a small part of the show.

 

So say we all.

 

 

If so…

 

What

Is

The

Point?

 

If a brief candle,

What do I illumine?

If a paltry player,

What is my hour of fretting worth?

 

Pointless.

A whisper of wind on a hot day, present and then forgotten,

Lost in the heat.

 

Perhaps….

 

I am not so brief,

So quick,

So sudden and fleeting.

 

I think I was made,

Created,

Formed,

Forged…

 

For eternity.

 

Not a shadow but the Platonic ideal that casts the shadow of me

Into this quicksilver world,

Illumined by the everlasting,

Briefly in this place

But eternal in eternity,

Unending beyond the end.

4 thoughts on “Candlelight

Leave a Reply

