Shaking the world

Some days I just want to grab the sky and shake it; shake it until the clouds are flung around like panicked sheep. I want to scream so loud that avalanches tumble and mountain peaks crack and those blind fish that live in the deepest ocean trenches swim in small confused circles. I want to slap cars off of the road and seize the wind and make it blow backwards and snap the ocean like a big sheet so that the ripple of it travels round the world and crashes on me from behind. I’ll bet, though, that if I could focus all of my rage and frustration, all of my passion and energy, all of everything I had and fling it heavenward, the sky would swallow it all without a whisper, like tossing a shell into the ocean. In just a little while, it’s only a little more sand.

Leave a Reply

